Celiac disease (gluten intolerance) treatment 

There are currently no pharmaceutical or surgical interventions available for those suffering from celiac disease. The only possible treatment is the adoption of an exclusively gluten-free diet.

As long as celiac patients continue to consume gluten-containing food, they will continue to damage their intestinal villi. Destruction of the villi is strongly related to digestive problems, mental health issues, and poor iron, vitamin B, and hemoglobin levels. 

There is no medication for celiac disease (gluten intolerance)

If a gluten-free diet is strictly adhered to, the intestinal villi quickly regenerate and, in most cases, the affected person can go on to live a normal and healthy lifestyle. In cases of children's celiac, an affected child will often experience a growth spurt following a few months on a gluten-free diet. 

Treatment sometimes involves the administration of high doses of iron during the initial period. Beyond that, the right diet should be adequate and no further treatment or medication is necessary for gluten intolerance.

How can I maintain a gluten-free diet?

Gluten is the main ingredient of local wheat cultivars (wheat, rye, barley, spelt, triticale, farro, green spelt, ancient grain, Khorasan wheat). These grains – as well as products that contain these grain varieties – must be completely avoided by individuals with celiac disease. This includes all flours made from these grains, as well as semolina, bran, starch, cereals, breadcrumbs, biscuits, cookies, and breads. 

Naturally, this makes the walk to the nearby bakery a challenge. Traditional desserts are now on the "do not eat list," as is the pizza from the Italian restaurant around the corner or grandma's apple pie. Grocery shopping can also more difficult than before. Gluten lurks in many processed products, including some soy sauces and broths. Beer, malt coffee, flavored teas and other drinks can contain gluten, as can some potato products, yogurts, ice creams, meat, and sausage products.

Labeling: how to recognize gluten-free foods

In terms of product labeling, individuals with gluten intolerance are still lucky in comparison to those who suffer, for example, from fructose intolerance. Fructose content is only indicated on products in exceptional cases. In contrast, manufacturers are required to indicate whether a product contains wheat ingredients.

Many foods are already gluten-free

The list of foods that people with gluten intolerance are allowed to eat is far longer than the list of things they have to banish from the menu; all types of vegetables and fruits are permitted, and millet, amaranth, maize, buckwheat, and quinoa can be eaten without any worries, as can nuts, seeds, milk and milk products, meat, fish, sugar, honey and rice syrup, to name a few.

Nearly all Frusano products are gluten-free, including:

Discover our gluten-free products here.

The diet change may initially be challenging, but, after the switch, it usually becomes second nature. And, most grocery stores now offer ample gluten-free options. Strict adherence to a gluten-free diet in restaurants can be more difficult, and experts advise that celiac patients alert restaurants of a "gluten allergy” when dining. Though this is technically not accurate (celiac disease is not an allergy), it often leads to a clearer understanding, as many people take an allergy more seriously than an intolerance.

Please see also:

What is celiac disease (gluten intolerance)?

Symptoms of celiac disease (gluten intolerance)

Diagnosing celiac disease (gluten intolerance)