Celiac Disease (Gluten Intolerance): Treatment and Therapy
There is no medicine or surgery for those suffering from Celiac Disease. The only possible therapy is to adopt a diet of exclusively gluten-free foods.
As long as celiac patients continue to consume gluten-containing food, they continue to damage their intestinal villi. Destruction of the villi is strongly related to digestive problems, mental health problems, poor iron, vitamin B and hemoglobin.
There is no medication for Celiac Disease (Gluten Intolerance)
If the diet is strictly adhered, the intestinal villi quickly regenerate and, in most cases, the affected person lives without a problem. During the first six months after the change of diet, children often experience a growth spurt.
The therapy sometimes involves the administration of high doses of iron during the initial period. Beyond that, the right diet is adequate. No further treatment or medication is necessary for Gluten Intolerance.
How can I maintain a gluten-free diet?
Gluten is the main ingredient of local wheat cultivars (wheat, rye, barley, spelt, triticale, farro, green spelt, ancient grain, Khorasan wheat (Kamut)). They all – as well as products that contain these cereal varieties - must be avoided by individuals with Celiac Disease for a lifetime. This includes all the flours made from these cereals, semolina, bran, starch, flakes, breadcrumbs, biscuits, cookies, and cakes.
Naturally, this makes the walk to the nearby bakery superfluous. Noodles made from hard wheat are also taboo, as is the pizza from the Italian restaurant around the corner or grandma's apple pie. Shopping is also more difficult than before. Gluten lurks in many processed products, for example in some soy sauces and broths. Beer, malt coffee, flavored teas and milk mix drinks can contain gluten, as can potatoe products (dumplings, croquettes, fries, chips), fruit yoghurt, ice cream, meat and sausage products.
Labelling: How to recognize gluten-free foods
Individuals with Gluten Intolerance are still lucky in comparison to those who suffer, for example, from Fructose Intolerance. Fructose content is only indicated on products in exceptional cases. In contrast, manufacturers are required by the European market to indicate whether a product contains gluten or gluten-containing ingredients. Only foods containing less than 2 milligrams of gluten per 100 g of final product may be labeled as gluten-free.
Many foods are already gluten-free
The list of things that people with Gluten Intolerance are allowed to eat is far longer than the list of things they have to banish from the menu: all types of vegetables and fruits are permitted. Millet, amaranth, maize, buckwheat and quinoa can be eaten without any worries, as can nuts, seeds, milk and milk products, meat, fish and seafood, sugar, honey and rice syrup - to name but a few.
Nearly all Frusano products are gluten-free:
- all types of Organic Filita chocolates
- all fructose-free gummi bears and candies from Frusano
- all Frusano fruit spreads
- Organic Fili-Secco
- Organic Red Current Syrup
- Organic Elderflower Syrup
- Organic Rice Syrup
- Organic Corn Sugar
- Frusano Organic Ketchup
- Vegan Organic Mayonnaise
- Organic Fili Cereal Bars
The diet change may initially be frustrating, but, after the switch, it usually works well at home. Strict adherence to a gluten-free diet in restaurants is more problematic. Many people cannot begin with the term "Celiac Disease". Experts advise that, in case of doubt, use the "Gluten Allergy.” This is factually wrong (Celiac Disease is not an allergy), but often leads to more understanding because many people take an allergy more seriously than an intolerance.
Please see also: