The difference between vegan and vegetarian

There are many types of diets ranging from living without sugar to living without any products coming from animals. Two of the most famous of those diets are veganism and vegetarianism. But what exactly is the difference between those two?

To say it simply, vegans generally reject any type of food coming from animals. This does not only include dairy products like yoghurt and cheese, but also products we use in our daily life such as wool, leather, silk and down. Vegans also strictly decline the use of cosmetics or detergents if they contain animal raw materials or have been tested on animals.

Vegetarians do not consume any type of meat. The most common reason for not eating meat anymore is out of a sense of responsibility for animals. But nevertheless, ecological and health reasons also play a huge role. The VEBU, an advocacy group for vegans and vegetarians living in Germany, estimates around seven million vegetarians that live in Germany.

Sometimes finding right products for vegans and vegetarians can be hard since a lot of foods contain traces of animal products.

That’s why Frusano was founded. We want to ease the life of vegan and vegetarian people. It all started with a simple analysis with products regarding their ingredients and unwanted traces before we developed our own products. Today, we can offer you a wide range of 100% vegan and vegetarian products for a healthy life!

What are the differences between the different types of veganism and vegetarianism?

Vegan does not equal vegan and vegetarian does not simply equal vegetarian. There are actually some subgroups of those.

As for the vegetarians, we usually differ six different subgroups from each other

  • The Classical Vegetarian: Also known as the Ovo-Lacto-Vegetarian. This type of vegetarian does not consume any type of meat, poultry or fish. Their diet, however, does include eggs, milk and other dairy products.
  • The Ovo-Vegetarian: This type of vegetarian consumes eggs, but refuses meat, poultry, fish and no dairy products or milk.
  • The Lacto-Vegetarian: This type consumes milk and dairy products, but no meat, fish, poultry or eggs.
  • The Ovo-Lacto-Pescatarian: This type of vegetarian forgoes meat and poultry, but consumes fish, milk, dairy products and eggs.
  • The Flexitarians: The rising group of the vegetarians. They usually keep a vegetarian diet but occasionally eat meat of good quality.
  • Half-Vegetarian: Some people only consume certain type of meat. In this case, they usually do not consume any type of red meat but eat poultry and fish.

Similar to the subgroups of vegetarians, there is also one subgroup for the vegans. Those are called fruitarians which have even stricter diet rules than the vegans. Typical for this type vegans are the consumption of fruits, nuts and seeds only. In very extreme cases, fruitarians only eat fruits that already have been fallen off a tree as they try not to damage a plant.

According to the strict doctrine of fruitarians, many vegetables are forbidden as well: potatoes and carrots, for example, grow in the soil. Their harvest is only possible by damaging and destroying a plant. This is not acceptable to fruitarians.
An official estimated number for fruitarians in Germany does not exist.

Why the difference between vegan and vegetarian does not matter for our products

Most of our Frusano products are different and made without any tests on animals or animal products. We care about the life of animals and our environment. Therefore, Frusano offers you a wide range of vegan products that allow you to keep a healthy diet that also includes your most favourite sweets and spreads!

We also invite you to be inspired by our great and tasty recipes—no matter if vegan or vegetarian, our recipes will lighten up your diet!

No matter what kind of diet you keep—Frusano will help you to keep a good and healthy diet. Trust our products and our know-how.

Eat healthily and live happily with products from Frusano!